Membership Info - Contact Rebecca Shriver (815) 232-5069

Wednesday, September 13, 2017


Aug. 26, 2017 - Park Hills (East) Golf Course, Freeport IL

A huge “Thank You” goes out to all Lions clubs in District 1D, to all volunteers and to 1D District Governor Steve Boettger and Lion Kelly Boettger who stepped up to support this year's fundraising event.
Special thanks to organizations/individuals who donated items for our bags & prizes:  Freeport: Dairy Queen; RAMP/ITAC; Mrs. Mike's; Hulsebus-Gehlsen Chiropractic; School District 145; YMCA; A. O. Elliott in Savanna; The Center for Sight & Hearing in Rockford; and Lions Terry Anderson and Joe Serafini for their organization skills.

13 Teams registered for the best-ball shotgun start scramble. 52 golfers represented clubs from Freeport, Kirkland, Lena, Roscoe, Byron, Shannon, Polo and Rockford Noon Lions.

Big thanks the following 15 Lions Clubs that sponsored $100 each for 15 different holes on the Park Hills East Course:  Amboy, Byron, Cedarville, East Dubuque, Freeport, Forreston, German Valley, Kirkland, Leaf River, Lena, Rockford Noon, Rockton, Oregon, Polo and Winnebago.

The following 18 Lions Clubs contributed to the prize fund at $25.00 each: Rockton (2), East Dubuque, Lena, Orangeville, Durand, Cedarville, German Valley, Leaf River, Rockton, Kirkland, Byron, Oregon, Polo, Dixon Evening, Rochelle, Amboy, Mt. Carroll and Freeport.

Each golfer was given a goodie bag which included DG Steve's "koozie" drink holder, items from Leader Dog, bags of Mrs. Mike's Chips and Pretzels made in Freeport, golf tees, a Park Hills logo golf ball, suckers from The Rafter's restaurant in Lena, along with other assorted items.
Brats, hot dogs and liquid refreshments were provided during the outing. Afterward, 60 Lions enjoyed grilling their own ¾ -pound Top Sirloin steak with all the trimmings. 

After dinner, the following trophies and prizes were awarded.
·        1st Place (62):  Shannon Lions: Aaron Kaney, Dale Kaney, Tim Deets & Brett Woessner
·        2nd Place (66): Freeport Lions: Roland Caruso, Terry Anderson, Andy Skinner & Joe Serafini
·        Last Place (89) : Lena Lions: Jim Brenner, Steve Gerbode, Gerald Curran & Tim Gordon
·        Longest drive (to get to course):  DG Ray Parrish - Moline
·        Putting Contest (13"):  Ryan Block - Kirkland
·        Ball in trap (drawing):  Don Reis - Rockford Noon
·        Ball in water (drawing): Richard Holmes - Lena

·        Longest Putt on green, men: D J Mumma - Byron
·        Longest Putt on green, women: Lynn Meyer
·       Shortest drive, women:  1st VDG Barb Stewart - Orangeville
·        Shortest drive, men:  2nd VDG Richard Delp - Mt. Carroll
·        Longest drive in fairway men >age 70:  Roland Caruso - Freeport
·        Longest drive in fairway men <age 70: Tim Deets - Shannon
·        Longest drive in fairway women: Alexa Williams
·        Closest to pin men - Hole #5: Ryan Shetler- Polo
·        Closest to pin women - Hole #10: Rose Rienstra - Stillman Valley
·        50/50/Drawing Winner Rose Rienstra – Stillman Valley
Lion Joe Serafini and his committee of volunteers want to thank DG Steve and Lion Kelly for allowing Freeport Lions Club to host this year's annual District Golf Outing. 

Thank you all Lions and non-Lions volunteers who helped make this year’s District 1D Golf Outing event a huge success:
·        Lions Joe Serafini, Gary Hutmacher, Dave Marcum, Paul Rampenthal, Terry Anderson, Liz Moshure, Rebecca Shriver, Duane Smith Andy Skinner and Dennis Zimmerman and Rich Montgomery (photography).
·        Cheryl Anderson, Anita Caruso, Nancy Serafini, Mary Jane Zimmerman, the entire Park Hills Golf Course staff.

This District 1D fundraiser netted $2,400.01. Comparison to last 3 years:
·        2017-2018 - DG Steve Boettger - $2,400.01 (host - Freeport)
·        2016-2017 - DG Pamela Graney - $1,759.31 (host - Lena)
·        2015-2016 - DG Gary Meyers -     $2,017.09 (host - Lena)
·        2014-2015 - DG Jim Kloepping -   $1,484.00 (host - Amboy)

All attendees enjoyed the day and look forward to a repeat in 2018.
Follow this link to the photo album:

No comments: